Khairlanji : Court Proceedings on 9th Jan 2008

14Mar08

The court assembles at 11:20 A.M.The next witness , Sub-Divisional Police Officer, Vinayak Sustkar is called in the witness-box to depose. Special Public Prosecutor , Adv.Nikam is there to examine the witness.

Adv.Nikam: For what duration, you were working as S.D.P.O. of  Tumsar ?
Wit: I was working as S.D.P.O. of Tumsar from 8/9/06 to 11/11/06.
Adv.Nikam: When did you take overe the investigations from Bharane?
Wit: On 30/9/06 at 9 P.M.
Adv.Nikam: What did you do on 1/10/06?
Wit; On 1/10/06  in between 6:15 to 7:15 in the morning , I inspected the spot of the incident.Then  I made the map of Bhaiyyalal’s Bhotmange’s house.I then deposited the simple clay & blood mixed clay from the road between Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange’s house to the canal. I arrested the 28 accused  . I seized the bullock cart of Narendra Kisan Titirmare.
Adv.Nikam: When did you visit Mukesh Pusam’s house?
Wit: On 1/10/06, I visited his house , but there was lock on his door.
Adv.Nikam: Then?’
Wit: Then I went to the house of Suresh Khandate.At that time , he was suffering from Chicken Gunya.So, I did not record his statement.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: Then I went to the place of the canal where the dead body of Surekha was found  .Thereafter ,we proceeded towards east by the side of that canal.With Panchas , I first found the dead body of  Roshan Bhotmange . There I made the panchanama of the body from 9 to 9:30 A.M. Thereafter , proceeding towards east ,we found dead body of  Surekha Bhotmange .We again made the Panchanama there.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: I prepared inquest Panchanama from 10 to 10:30 A.M. Again I proceeded towards east af the canal for about 2Kms. Then we found dead of Sudhir Bhotmange.Then I preapared inquest Panchanama at about 11 to 11:30 A.M.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: Then I sent for the post-mortem of these dead bodies to Mohadi Rural Hospital.
Adv.Nikam: Waht happened on 2/10/06?
Wit: We did a running Panchanama from the house of Bhaiyalal Bhotmange  to the place where the 3 dead bodies were found.
Adv.Nikam: Why you went to the place of the canal from Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange’s house ?
Wit: We followed the trail of the blood from Bhotmange’s house to the canal since the the dead bodies were carried by Bullock Cart to the canal and because of the secret information received by our sources .That place is around 2 Kms from Bhotamnge’s house.
Adv.Nikam: What did you procur from the spot?
Wit: From the place of the canal , I seized the blood spots & a turf of hair .
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: There after I came back to Andhalgaon Police station .Then I inquired to the accused , Shatrughana Dahnde , Sakru Binjewar about the crime.
Adv.Nikam: Whose inquiry you made first?
Wit: Shatrughna Dhande.Before that I called two Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: What was told by Sahtrughana Dhande?
Wit: He made the statement he is ready to show the cycle chain used in the crime which he had kept hidden in his house.
Adv.Nikam: Who signed on Panchanama?
Wit: Myself , accused Shatrughna Dhande & two Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Thereafter whose inqury you did?
Wit: Sakru Binjewar.He told me that he is prepared to show the hidden stick from his house which he used in the crime.He too made statements before rwo Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then whose inquiry you made?
Wit: Vishvanath Dhande who told that he is ready to show the cycle cahin hidden in the mud of his paddy growing fields.Then his statement was recorded before two Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: Thereafter I took those three accused  to Kahirlanji.There first Shatrughna first took us to his house .There he produced a cycle chain hidden in his house behind a cot which was seized before 2 panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Who signed on the Panchanama?
Wit: Myself, two panchas & the accused Shatrughna Dhande.
Adv.Nikam: After Shatrughna Dhande , whose weapon you seized of ?
WIt: Thetreafter Sakru Binjewar took ourselveas to his farms & brought up a stick hidden in the grass-roof of his house .I seized it & made Panchanama before two Panchas who signed on it.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: Thereafter the third accused Vishvanath Dhande produced a cycle chain hidden in the mud of his fields behind his house.I seized it & made the Panchaanama before 2 Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On 2/10/06, I went to Mukesh Pusam’s house but there was lock on it.On the same day , I went also to Suresh Khandate , but due to illness , he refused to say anything.
Adv.Nikam: Wht happened on 3/10/06?
Wit: On 3/10/06, I seized one tractor & trolly from the house of Parvat Dhumankhede .Then I recorded the seizure memo which was signed by two Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On the same day , I seized a Nokia mobile , one cycle chain, one washed black colour fullpant , one bluish coloured checkered fullshirt,from house of Prabhakar Mandalekar .I recorded the seizure paper before teh panchas on the same day which bear the signatures of the Panchas & of mine.
Adv.Nikam: Whose mobile it was ?
Wit: Surekah Bhotmange’s.
Adv.Nikam: On what basis you can say so?
Wit: I had shown it to Bhotmange which he identified to be beloging to Surekha.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On 3/10/06, I searched the house of Gopal Binjewar.There I seized one Bamboo stick , a black colored jeans fullpant  & white-blue checkered shirt.I recorded the seizure memo before Panchas which bear the signatures of them & of mine.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On 3/10/06, I searched house of Mahipal Dhande where I seized one dirty white fullshirt& one wooden stick .I recorded seizure memo which bears the signatures of Myself & 2 Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: Then  I searched the house of Jagdish Mandalekar & seized a cycle chain .I recorded the seizure memo signed by myself & 2 Panchas.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
 (At this juncture , a Nokia Mobile Handset is brought in the court which he identifies to be recovered from accused Jagdish Mandalekar)
Judge : Does it has Sim Card inside?
Wit: No.
Adv.Nikam:Then?
Wit: On 3/10/06 , I recorded statements of Premala Walke .On that also , Mukesh Pusam was not present in his which was locked from outside.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On 5/10/06 , I recorded statement of Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange.
Adv.Nikam: Then?
Wit: On 6/10/06 , I searched house of Dharmapal Dhande where I seized one shirt fullpant . There I recorded seizure Panchanama signed by 2 Panchas & myself .On the same day , I searched the house of Sakru Binjewar  where I seized mud stained full trouser.
Adv.Nikam: What happened on 7/10/06 ?
Wit: I recorded statement of Mahadev Zanzad.Portion marked as ‘A’ to ‘N’ now shown to me the contents of which were scribed by myself as per the his statement & it is correctly recorded by me .
Adv.Nikam: What happened on 8/10/06?
Wit: I recorded  Sidhhartha Gajbhiye’s statement . On the same day , I again looked for Mukesh Pusam , but he was not found as his house locked from outside . Also , as Suresh Khandate was ill that time , I could not record his statement .
Adv.Nikam: Then to whom you handed over investagations ?
Wit: To S.D.P.O. Rajurkar.
(Adv.Nikam finishes his examination at 2 P.M.The defence lawyer  Adv. Khandewale requests for the adjournment for the whole day  since the defence lawyer Adv.Jaiswal is absent; but Hon.Judge refuses it & defers the proceeding of the court only for the Lunch Break till 3 P.M.)
(The court re-assembles at 3 P.M. Now , the defence lawyer Adv.Khandewale rises to cross-examine the witness)
Adv.Khandewale: What are the villages in the jurisdiction of Andhalgaon apart from Khiairlanji?Dhuisala?Khandri?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Khandewale: What is the distance between Khairlanji to Dhusala & Khairlanji to Kandri?
Wit:Kandri to  Khairlanji is 3Kms , the distance between Khairlanji to Dhusala , I don’t know.
Adv.Khandewale: What did do you from 9 of the  night of 30/9/06 to 6 in the morning of 1/10/06 ?
Wit: After 9 of  night of 30/9/06 , I went to Khairlanji & I halted there for the whole of the night.
Adv.Khandewale: You arrested in this crime total 28 accused including the persons accused in the crime of 52/2006.Right?
Wit: yes.
Adv.Khandewale: You on 1/10/06 at 6:30 to 7:15 in the morning inspected inside the house of Bhaiyyala Bhotmange . You made the Panchanama of the spot where all the  things were  scattered here & there.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Khandewale: How many persons live in front of Bhotmange’s house?
Wit: (seeing map)On the west , there is road , on the other side  of which there are houses , but I don’t whose they are.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you go to those houses?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Khandewale: Even thought you can not tell their names!
Wit: Yes , because in front of those houses Godesses Durga & Sharda’s idol had been erected .
Adv.Khandewale: Did you go to Mukesh Pusam’s house?
Wit: Yes, but there was lock on his house.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you inquire for that from the pesons living in his neighbrhood?
Wit: Yes , he was not in the house from 29 th .
Adv.Khandewale: When you go to Suresh Khandate’s house , he was suffering from Chicken Gunya & was in position of speaking.Right?
Wit: yes.
Adv.Khandewale: So even visiting his house , he was not able to give statement.Right?
Wit: He was not even  able to speak.
Adv.Khandewale: You on 1/10/06 , did not took out any dead body in front of the Panchas.Right?
Wit : No, I took out the dead bodies in front of the Panchas.
Adv.Khandewale: Is my assertion right that on 2/10/06, you did not seize anything from Shatrughna Dhande, Vishvanath Dhande & Sakru Binjewar?
Wit: I seized.
Adv.Khandewale:In the same way you did not seize anything from Jagdish Mandalekar & Prabhakar Mandalekar  .Right?
Wit: No, I seized.
Adv.Khandewale: How many statements  of Bhaiyaylal Bhotmange did you record?
Wit: Only one statement that was recorded  on  5/10/06.
Adv.Khandewale: How many persons did you arrest after  1/10/06?
Wit: 4, but I don’t know their names.
Adv.Khandewale: You found out their names in your investigations , so you arrested them.Right?
Wit: yes .
Adv.Khandewale: My assertion is that , you on 5/10/06  did not record any statement of Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange.Right?
Wit: No , it is false. I recorded the statement.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you during your investigations made inquiry of Sidhhartha & Rajan Gajbghiye?
Wit: I made inquiry fromSidhartha & not Rajan.
Adv.Khandewale: On 2/10/06 , you spotted the blood spots from the house of Bhaiyyalal Bhotamange to the canal .Did you collct it ?
Wit: No.
Adv.Khandewale: Did it rain on 2/10/06?
Wit: The rain was there ,but on what date I don’t know.
Adv.Khandewale: How many statements of Premalal Walke , did you record on 3/10/06?
Wit: Two.
Adv.Khandewale: The second of his statement , you wrote as it is as told by Walke.Right?’
Wit: Yes .
Adv.Khandewale: Can you tell me during what interwal between  these two elapsed, you recorded the statements?
Wit: No.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you record the statement of Hemant Khandate ?
Wit: No.
Adv.Khandewale:( Showing record)Now tell me.
Wit : Now I say that I recorded Hemant Khandate’s statement.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you record his statements as it was told by him?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Khandewale: Did you record his statement as it is that he came to know of the incidence when he read in  the newspaper the next day?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Khandewale: You are suspended from the service.Right?
 (But witness gets furious by this question & retorts angrily if he knows the the reason of his suspension.On this Hon.Judge rebukes him saying he has to answer , there is no insult  in this.)
Wit: I was suspended because I did not apply the section of Atrocity Acy in the crime of 52/2006.
Adv.Khandewale: My assertion is that because you did not invesigate in this crime properly & due to dereliction of your duty,  you were suspended .Right?
Wit: No , there is no relation of my suspension with this crime.
Adv.Khandewale: Your request was quashed by MAT(Mharashtra Administrative Tribunal).Right?
Wit : No. It is false.

(The court is adjourned  till 15th January since its working time is over)



One Response to “Khairlanji : Court Proceedings on 9th Jan 2008”

  1. 1 Cleasby

    Dear Editor
    Can you please feature the atrocity, rape and murder of the slain British Girl Scarlette Keeling. She was drugged, raped and murdered by two people in Goa – Samson D’Souza and Placido Carvalho. The police and the home minstry are trying to cover up this issue. I am now in Goa working with these authorities to get justice.

    Andrew Cleasby,
    Rh1 1LT
    Redhill
    Surrey
    United Kingdom


Leave a Reply

