Khairlanji : Court Proceeding on 19th Nov 2007

23Jan08

The court again assembles after lunch break.The defence lawyer Adv.Sudeedp Jaiswal is again ready to cross-examine the witness.
Adv.Jaiswal: Did you tell the police that there were ladies attackers?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: But is recorded by the police . Why?
Wit: It is not correctly recorded by the police.
Adv.Jaiswal: Whether you stated to the police that amongst those attackers Jagdish Mandalekar , Vishvanath Dhande, Mahipal Dhande, Sakru Binjewar , Dharmapal Dhande, Ramu Dhande, Shatrughna Dhande, Purushottam Titirmare, Hasan Dhande, Gajanand Mandalekar and 40-50 other male persons?
Wit: I stated some of such names to the police.
Adv.Jaiswal: Could you identify those 40-50 persons?
Wit:No, I could not.
Adv.Jaiswal: Is it true that on the day of the incident , there was shower of rains?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: Such shower of rains poured upto 7:30 to 8:00 P.M. Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: There were also black clouds in the sky at that time.Right?
Wit: I don’t remember that.
Adv.Jaiswal: There was load shedding in the village from 5:30 P.M. onwards & it went on upto late night.Right?
Wit: I don’t remember that.
Adv.Jaiswal: On that day of the incident , there was darkness early in the evening.Right?
Wit: I don’t remember.
Adv.Jaiswal: 50-60 persons who were present there were not attackers & you could not identify them.Right?
Wit: YES.
Adv.Jaiswal: Is it true that 30-40 persons who went in a tractor to Mohadi Court in the morning , later on proceeded to Kandri to beat Rajendra Gajbhiye ?
Wit: I don’t remember.
Adv.Jaiswal: You returned from the fields at 6 to 6:30 in the evening .Right?
Wit: No, I returned to the village from fields at about 5:00 P.M.
Adv.Jaiswal: Is it true that those persons  who went to beat Rajendra Gajbhiye  returned to your village ?
Wit: I don’t know.
Adv.Jaiswal: At 6:30 P.M. you went for taking kharra & then you saw that those persons returned from Kandri and had a discussion in front of Gram Panchayat for half an hour .Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: Later you came to know that such discussion ended by 7 P.M.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: Today during the lunch break you went with C.B.I. officers to Rest House & those officers were with you there ?
Wit: No C.B.I. officer was present in the Rest House & I only consumed my tiffin there.
Adv.Jaiswal: Is it not true that you did not witness the incident ?
Wit: Due to somewhat darkness I could not see the incident clearly.
Adv.Jaiswal: Police & C.B.I. threatened you to give statement in their favour otherwise they would implicate you.Right?
Wit: Police gave me such threat but C.B.I. didn’t.
Adv.Jaiswal: Is it true that C.B.I. gave you inducement by offering you job & money to depose in their favour?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: The job you are presently doing is found for you by C.B.I.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: You are afraid of C.B.I. Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: You are deposing as told by C.B.I. as you are afraid of them.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: Sidhhartha Gajbhiye used to visit the house of Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange in his presence as well as in his absence.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: Surekha used to stay at the house with those thieves when Bhaiyyalal would not be there.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: The villagers used to say that Surekha Bhotmange was involved in running  brothel.Right?
Wit: I don’t know.
Adv.Jaiswal: The villagers gave understanding  2-3 times to her to refrain from doing such immoral activities  & therefore she used to quarrel with them.Right?
Wit: I don’t know.
Adv.Jaiswal: But sometime Surekha used to quarrel with the villagers.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: And she would make police complaint against villagers after quarrel.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal :  Bhaiyyalal Bhotmange would give understanding to her , but she would not listen .Right?
Wit: I don’t know.
Adv.Jaiswal: In such quarrel Surekha would threaten that she would falsely implicted those persons in the Atrocities offence.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Jaiswal: You are deposing falsely as tutored by C.B.I.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Jaiswal: You named all the accused as told by C.B.I.Right?
Wit: No.
(Adv.Jaiswal finishes his cross-examination of the witness.Now, another defence lawyer for accused no.10, Adv.M.T.Bedarkar rises to cross-examine the witness)
Adv.Bedarkar: You did not identify the accused even though the police took you for four times for identification of the accused.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Bedarkar: After 1 to 2 months after the incident , only C.I.D. took you for identification parade.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Bedarkar: After the incident many police officers , Ministers used to visit the village but you did not tell them about the incident for a month after the incident.Right?
Wit: Yes.Due to fear I did not tell about the incident to police.
Adv.Bedarkar: Is it true that you deliberately did not tell them about the incident to them?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Bedarkar: Even when police arrested 50 persons , you did not tell the police about the incident.Right?
Wit: Yes.
Adv.Bedarkar: Is it true that SDPO (sub-divisional police officer) was acquinted with you before?
Wit : No, I know him after the incident.
Adv.Bedarkar: He brought you to Mohadi as well as Bhandara to record your statement.Right?
Wit: He brought me to Mohadi & Bhandara , but  he made only inquiry & did not record my statement.
Adv.Bedarkar: C.B.I. came to you for 2-4 times & they recorded your statement for 2-3 times.Right?
Wit: yes.
Adv.Bedarkar: You made statement to C.B.I. due to their fear.Right?
Wit: No.
Adv.Bedarkar: Do you know which of your statements is placed on record by them?
Wit: I do not know .
Adv.Bedarkar: C.B.I. placed only favourable statement of you on record.Right?
Wit: I do not know.
Adv.Bedarkar: Can you tell the dates on which you made your statements to C.B.I.?
Wit: No.
Adv.Bedarkar: Did C.B.I.record your statement on 9/12/2006?
Wit : I don’t know.
Adv.Bedarkar: Did it so happen that you told C.B.I. to keep your statement secret ?
Wit: No .
Adv.Bedarkar: SDPO Rajurkar took only oral statement from you & only made enquiry from you . Right?
Wit: Yes .
Adv.Bedarkar: Did you tell SDPO Rajurkar to keep your statement and name secret which is being marked as ‘F’ in your statement?
Wit : It is not correctly recorded.
(Adv.Bedarkar finishes his cross-examination.Now, the next witness , witness no. 20 , Mahadev Zanzad is called in the witness – box to depose.)
TO BE CONTD….



No Responses Yet to “Khairlanji : Court Proceeding on 19th Nov 2007”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

